Friday, October 24, 2008

Rugby : George Smith Wins John Eales Medal For Second Time

Your Ad Here

George SmithWallabies flanker George Smith has become the first dual winner of the John Eales Medal for Australian rugby's player of the year.

Smith won the inaugural medal in 2002 and again topped this year's players' poll, which was announced here late Thursday.

This year's medal count took in 14 Test matches, five at last year's World Cup in France and the nine played this season.

Smith polled a total of 205 votes with his backrow partner Wycliff Palu second on 184 and fly-half Matt Giteau on 183.

The John Eales Medal is determined by Wallabies players who vote on a 3-2-1 basis after each Test.

News Courtsey: Google AFP

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home